Sub-Luminal Rough Work Sheet 01

In my spare time I’ve been building up a tile set and mock up for a sci-fi roguelike I’m calling Sub-Luminal.  The setting is on a vast interstellar ship that travels at some fraction of the speed of light, but still requires generations to reach its destination.  The idea is to provide a bit of a change from traditional roguelike ‘dungeons’ in both setting and some mechanics.  I’m working out a highly streamlined party-based combat system that takes into account the dynamics of weapons fire and cover.

Above is a screen cap of the main work sheet I’m operating in, and it’s a jumbled mess but shows some of my process in both the tile set as well as combat ideations.  I like to work in documents or spaces that have all my elements available so that it’s easy to sample and mix them into new content.  Margin doodles often tend to become refined elements as I migrate from one area to another, tweaking and revising as I go.

  1. This looks awesome guy – Am I reading the light sections as corridors and rooms correctly?

    Also are you planning on having battles take place within the map or on a separate combat screen (like the little doodles on the right suggest)?

    The idea of a roguelike on a seed ship is a goodun, I have considered it myself – It lends itself to some interesting topologies. The system I was thinking of involved the ship being a spinning cylinder (for gravity) with multiple decks. This would make each deck wrap in one direction – meaning you could walk off one side onto the other. Also the decks closer to the outer hull would have stronger gravity and would be further from the lighted core, making for tougher monsters and creepier environments.

    Crack on with it fella, I look forward to the results.

    T

    • Thanks Thomas!

      You’re reading the tiles correct, light areas are open / corridors and dark are walls / bulkheads / outer hull.
      The battles are intended to be in a separate ‘zoomed in’ view, yes. I figured that was a better way to incorporate party actions while minimizing micromanagement. It will also help play up the sense of scale I want to convey, something that I think the tile map won’t do on its own.

      Your idea for a wrapping map is brilliant! I was imagining this ship as being cylindrical, but my current concept is to abstract that into a single map. What I was thinking is that the map will be built spanning out from a central core line that is zero g, and as you move further away from the core the gravity increases. Different g would give different gameplay bonuses and penalties. For example, low g would make your map actions much faster and less fatiguing, but you are much more vulnerable to ambush.
      If you don’t mind I think I might try experimenting with your wrapping map idea, which would require the player to move between maps, but opens up some cool possibilities. One reason I was avoiding multiple maps was because it can add to the player’s confusion about where they are in relation to the levels above and below them. Maybe there could be a toggle for a multilevel map that is at a tilted perspective and allows for more than one deck to be visible at once.

  2. The tile set looks really cool. Keep up the good work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

