Thrift Store Sofa Painting

My sister found this old painting in a thrift store, and bought it so that we could rework it.

 

From the above snapshot, I did a couple really rough sketch paintings just to get a few ideas down.  They were mostly to see how different colour and value schemes would work with the painting.

 

 

Once I got to the painting myself, I sketched a few robots in with a pen.  They exist just as rough line work at the moment, but here’s a mockup of how they might look once we start laying down values.

 

I want to try some other variations, but this is a really fun project.  I think we should do a whole series of these.

    • pete k
    • October 4th, 2011

    That is the most awesome idea ever! I need to learn to paint, haha.

    • Frida
    • October 4th, 2011

    Waaaaa! I had a idea to do stuff like this a couple of years ago too, but I got lazy. You sure know how to pimp up boring old art!

    • Jeremiah
    • March 12th, 2012

    Those are AWESOME! Let me know if you finish one! Or do more – I especially like the last one – I would totally buy that!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

